top of page

Literature Wales announces the Welsh-language shortlist for 'Wales Book of the Year 2021'

Welsh-language Shortlist for 'Wales Book of the Year 2021' (Image: Literature Wales)

Literature Wales has announced the shortlist for the Welsh-language 'Wales Book of the Year Awards 2021'.

The twelve books nominated for this year’s awards were revealed on Monday (June 28) on BBC Radio Cymru’s Stiwdio programme.

The English-language Shortlist will be revealed this Friday evening (July 2) on BBC Radio Wales’ Arts Show from 18.30.

Wales Book of the Year celebrates "outstanding literary talent" from Cymru— across various genres in both English and Welsh. There are four categories in each language— Poetry, Fiction, Creative Non-fiction, and Children & Young People.

The judges of this year’s Welsh-language books are poet and writer Guto Dafydd; writer, presenter and former Bardd Plant Cymru, Anni Llŷn; writer, academic and lecturer, Tomos Owen; and comedian and writer, Esyllt Sears.

Lleucu Siencyn, Chief Executive of Literature Wales said: “This shortlist is a celebration of the outstanding literary talents we have in Wales, during what has been incredibly challenging times for writers, readers, and the wider publishing sector.

"On behalf of Literature Wales, I wish to congratulate all the shortlisted writers and thank them for providing us with such delight and inspiration during a year where the power of literature has never been more important. I encourage everyone to visit your local bookshop or library and immerse yourselves in the worlds of these exceptional titles.”

Welsh-language Shortlist 2021:

Gwobr Farddoniaeth – Poetry Award

Dal i Fod, Elin ap Hywel (Cyhoeddiadau Barddas)

rhwng dwy lein drên, Llŷr Gwyn Lewis (Self-published)

Mynd, Marged Tudur (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Gwobr Ffuglen – Fiction Award

Wal, Mari Emlyn (Y Lolfa)

Tu ôl i’r awyr, Megan Angharad Hunter (Y Lolfa)

Twll Bach yn y Niwl, Llio Elain Maddocks (Y Lolfa)

Gwobr Ffeithiol Greadigol – Creative Non-Fiction Award

Ymbapuroli, Angharad Price (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Darllen y Dychymyg: Creu Ystyron Newydd i Blant a Phlentyndod yn Llenyddiaeth y Bedwaredd Ganrif ar Bymtheg, Siwan M. Rosser (University of Wales Press)

O.M.: Cofiant Syr Owen Morgan Edwards, Hazel Walford Davies (Gwasg Gomer)

Gwobr Plant a Phobl Ifanc – Children & Young People Award

Ble Mae Boc? Ar goll yn y chwedlau, Huw Aaron (Y Lolfa)

#Helynt, Rebecca Roberts (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)

Y Castell Siwgr, Angharad Tomos (Gwasg Carreg Gwalch)



bottom of page