top of page

First Minister makes sweeping changes to his cabinet

Llywodraeth Cymru | Welsh Government (Image: Gwalia).

The First Minister Mark Drakeford has made a number of key changes to his cabinet following the recent election.

Vaughan Gething has become the new Economy Minister, having formerly been the Health Minister for the past five years. Gething oversaw the country's coronavirus response over the past 15 months.

The First Minister said: "Vaughan becomes Economy Minister at a crucial point in time – the pandemic is not just a public health emergency but also an economic one."

Julie James has been appointed to the new role of Minister for Climate Change, with Lee Waters as her deputy.

Eluned Morgan has been named Minister for Health and Social Services, with a specific focus on NHS recovery and the pandemic response.

Lynne Neagle, the MS for Torfaen, becomes Deputy Minister for Mental Health and Wellbeing, while Julie Morgan remains in her role as Deputy Minister for Social Services.

Jeremy Miles has been appointed Minister for Education and the Welsh Language, overseeing the introduction of the new curriculum, and the biggest ever catch-up programme in schools.

Mick Antoniw returns to the Cabinet as Counsel General designate and Minister for the Constitution.

Jane Hutt becomes Minister for Social Justice and Hannah Blythyn becomes Deputy Minister for Social Partnership.

Rebecca Evans retains the post of Finance Minister, but will add local government to her portfolio.

Lesley Griffiths will take on the role of Minister for Rural Affairs and North Wales, as well as Trefnydd.


Perhaps the biggest surprise of the reshuffle is that Ken Skates, formerly Economy and Transport Minister, will be returning to the backbenches to focus on strengthening Welsh Labour in the north in preparation for next year’s local government elections and the next UK Parliamentary election. He will also strengthen Labour links between the north and northwest England.

The new Welsh Government in full:

  • Mark Drakeford - First Minister

  • Mick Antoniw - Counsel General designate and Minister for the Constitution

  • Rebecca Evans - Minister for Finance and Local Government

  • Vaughan Gething - Economy Minister

  • Dawn Bowden - Deputy Minister for Arts and Sport, and Chief Whip

  • Lesley Griffiths - Minister for Rural Affairs and North Wales, and Trefnydd

  • Jane Hutt - Minister for Social Justice

  • Hannah Blythyn - Deputy Minister for Social Partnership

  • Julie James - Minister for Climate Change

  • Lee Waters - Deputy Minister for Climate Change

  • Jeremy Miles - Minister for Education and the Welsh Language

  • Eluned Morgan - Minister for Health and Social Services

  • Julie Morgan - Deputy Minister for Social Services

  • Lynne Neagle - Deputy Minister for Mental Health and Wellbeing



bottom of page