top of page

Andrew RT Davies unveils his new shadow cabinet

Welsh Conservatives leader Andrew RT Davies (Image: Welsh Parliament). Senedd (Image: Gwalia).

The leader of the Welsh Conservatives Andrew RT Davies has unveiled his new Shadow Cabinet in the Senedd on Thursday.

The party finished second in May's Senedd election, achieving its best ever result.

Mr. RT Davies has given prominent roles to some of the party's newly elected MSs including Natasha Asghar, who will take on the role of Shadow Minister for Transport and Technology.

Following May's election, Ms. Asghar became the first woman of colour ever elected to the Senedd.

Former leader Paul Davies, who resigned before the election after allegedly consuming alcohol on Senedd premises during the COVID restrictions on serving alcohol in pubs, has been appointed Shadow Minister for the Economy.

Another new addition, former Sir Fynwy council Chief Executive Peter Fox has been given the role of Shadow Minister for Finance.

Newcomer Samuel Kurtz has also been given a shadow cabinet position as Shadow Minister for Rural Affairs and Welsh Language.

The Welsh Conservatives' shadow cabinet in full:

Welsh Conservative leader – Andrew RT Davies

Chief Whip and Shadow Minister for the Constitution and North Wales – Darren Millar

Deputy Whip and Shadow Minister for Equalities – Altaf Hussain

Shadow Minister for Climate Change – Janet Finch-Saunders

Shadow Minister for Culture, Tourism and Sport – Tom Giffard

Shadow Minister for the Economy – Paul Davies

Shadow Minister for Education – Laura Jones

Shadow Minister for Finance – Peter Fox

Shadow Minister for Health – Russell George

Shadow Minister for Local Government – Sam Rowlands

Shadow Minister for Mental Health, Wellbeing and Mid Wales – James Evans

Shadow Minister for Rural Affairs and Welsh Language – Samuel Kurtz

Shadow Minister for Social Justice and Shadow Counsel General – Mark Isherwood

Shadow Minister for Social Partnership – Joel James

Shadow Minister for Social Services – Gareth Davies

Shadow Minister for Transport and Technology – Natasha Asghar



bottom of page